نافع لغيره – BeNeFiCiaL tO OthErS

The final lap to go

 

When this journey is about to end soon, I feel so happy as I will be able to meet my family so often after this. I will use those times wisely before I join the new episode of housemanship life in the local hospital. I hope I get the chance to work in the hospital near my house so that I can go home and take care of my parents and siblings.

After this also, there won’t be any issue of a tiring and long journey for me. Travelling by a flight plus by road after that, is a tiring experience for me, but it is unforgettable. It is this kind of journey that makes us to be stronger everytime we face any problems afterwards.

As time goes by, I am in my last posting at present. I felt so jealous with the obstetrician everytime she ‘brought’ a new life to this world during Caesarean section (CS) in the OT. I wonder how many babies had she handled before this. I thought that this job of dealing with 2 lives simultaneously, is such a tough job to do but still, it brings a deep satisfaction for the doctors themselves. It was a joyous moment for both doctors and mother to welcome this tiny, amazing member in the society. The first cry of the baby is like a remedy to the pain endured by mother beforehand.

Last anaesthesia posting, I still remembered a CS when a twin was delivered safely. And guess what, the mother is still in her early 20s! Both babies were given to the paediatrician who was responsible for cleaning the baby, do suctioning of the oral and nasal cavity, cutting of the umbilical cord and weighing the babies.

It is a normal situation to see young pregnant woman in 20s. Most of them are villagers, working as farmer and they get married quite early also. So it is a duty of a doctor to gave advice to these people regarding family planning which benefits most of them.

May the remaining weeks onwards will have a different stories to be shared here…

Leave a Reply

